Millennial Hip-Hop Fans NEED The Straight Outta Compton Soundtrack


Hip-hop heads in 2015 need a new Dr. Dre album.

Young hip-hop fans haven’t seen the true wrath of Dr. Dre. It’s been 16 years since Dre dropped 2001, which held classic chart-topping single like “Next Episode” and “Forgot About Dre.” Some old heads won’t believe Dre has a new album until they see it on the shelves. However, a majority of day-one fans of N.W.A’S founding member can’t wait to hear each bar and melody Dre has been holding back from us for so long.

While today’s generation have heard Dre’s magic touch on classic albums from 50 Cent, Eminem, and Kendrick Lamar, kids as old as high school sophomores have yet to witness Dre release a solo album in their lifetime. Detox would have served as a wake-up call to the new generation of hip-hop back when he first revealed his third and final album on MTV back in 2002. After stalling, releasing songs like “I Need A Doctor,” and later scrapping the entire project, the Straight Outta Compton soundtrack will be the closest thing we’ll ever get to Detox.

Dre revealed the details about the soundtrack on his radio show on Beats 1 “The Pharmacy.” The Aftermath Records founder acted as the executive producer of the official soundtrack of N.W.A’s biopic Straight Outta Compton. Dre says the album is completely different from what Detox would have been. He gathered artists he has worked closely with over the past several decades like Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Xzibit, Ice Cube, Jill Scott, Jon Connor, Marsha Amrosius, and Snoop Dogg to contribute to the soundtrack.

To the new generation of hip-hop stans, this soundtrack will be one of the most important albums of their time. Newcomers like BJ The Chicago Kid, King Mez, Asia Bryant, and L.A. native Anderson Paak, will join the most talented artists new and old to prove how real hip-hop can be without the gimmicks and glorified trends. MC’s like Xzibit, Ice Cube, COLD 187um and more will bring it back to a time when rap beefs were deadly and social media had no control over fame. Look out for the album in store Aug 7. Check out the official tracklist below.


1) Intro
2) Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3) Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4) It’s All On Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5) All In a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6) Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7) Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8) Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9) Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10) Jon Connor – One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11) The Game – Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant)
12) For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13) Satisfaction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14) Animals (feat. Anderson Paak)
15) Medicine Man (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16) Talking To My Diary

Show More

Related Articles